Skip to content
damantra

Equipment reference

Epson SureColor SC-F2200 (US: F2270)

Epson's hybrid direct-to-garment and direct-to-film printer, sold in the UK as the SureColor SC-F2200 and in the US as the F2270: PrecisionCore MicroTFP head, UltraChrome DG2 ink, platen-based printing up to 406 × 508 mm — specified from Epson UK's product page and datasheet and the EU user's guide.

Epson · SureColor SC-F2200 / F2270 (Standard Edition)Current product — available in the UKLast verified 2026-07-17

What it is

A platen-based inkjet printer that Epson positions for both direct-to-garment printing and direct-to-film transfer production on the same machine. Garments or film sheets sit on interchangeable platens and pass under a PrecisionCore MicroTFP printhead running UltraChrome DG2 ink.

Epson's documentation assumes supporting equipment you buy separately: a heat press or equivalent for pretreatment fixing and finishing, pretreatment fluid for polyester and for white-ink work on cotton, and — for DTF output — commercially available film and adhesive powder.

Who it may be relevant for: Decoration businesses weighing one machine that covers both DTG onto garments and DTF transfer production, with platen sizes from sleeve-scale up to 406 × 508 mm.

UK market notes

  • In the UK this printer is sold as the SureColor SC-F2200 — the name F2270 does not appear on epson.co.uk. The pairing is documented by Epson itself: the official SC-F2200 Series User's Guide lists the SC-F2270 as a series model, assigns it the T54K ink family that the US F2270 documentation carries, and lists maintenance parts shared across SC-F2200/SC-F2230/SC-F2240/SC-F2260/SC-F2270. US marketing drops the SC- prefix and presents the model as F2270.
  • Consumable part numbers are regional: Epson's GB datasheet lists the T54L ink series for the UK SC-F2200, while the US F2270 documentation lists the T54K series — buy the ink series documented for your machine's market.
  • Epson's GB datasheet states compliance with the UK Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure (Product Security) requirements, with security updates provided for 7 years from purchase.
  • The standard UK warranty term is not stated on Epson UK's page or datasheet; Epson UK offers paid CoverPlus extensions of one to five years including on-site options. The 1-year on-site warranty in older versions of this record is the US offer.

Confirm the exact supplied model, electrical configuration and warranty with the manufacturer or a UK authorised distributor before purchasing.

Specifications

Every figure below is traced to a numbered source. “Manufacturer figure” marks values stated by the manufacturer under their own test conditions — not independent measurements. Specifications change; confirm anything critical with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Printing

SpecificationValueBasis
Maximum printable area406 × 508 mm (16 × 20 in) on the large platen; 356 × 406 mm medium (supplied), down to 102 × 102 mm sleeve platenEpson specifies printable area per platen rather than a single print width; the same platen line-up appears in the EU user's guide and the US manual.Verified[3]
PrintheadPrecisionCore MicroTFP with Nozzle Verification TechnologyVerified[2]
InkUltraChrome DG2 ink supply packs (800 ml; GB datasheet lists the T54L series plus 800 ml white, cleaning and maintenance liquids)Verified[2]
Nozzle configurationWhite mode: 400 nozzles × 4 white + 400 × 4 colours; colour mode 400 × 4; high-speed colour 400 × 2 × 4Printhead architecture — product-intrinsic; documented in the US manual.Verified[4]
Maximum resolution1200 × 1200 dpi maximumVerified[2]
Rated print speedEpson does not publish an absolute garments-per-hour figure in the UK, EU or US documentation reviewed; only a relative claim (see manufacturer claims).Not verified

Media

SpecificationValueBasis
Maximum media thickness27 mm (1.06 in) or less, platen-dependent; media weight 1.5 kg (3.31 lb) or lessMechanical clearance — product-intrinsic; from the US manual, consistent with the shared platen system.Verified[4]
Supported fabricCotton blend 50–100 % or polyester blend 50–100 %Ink-chemistry constraint — product-intrinsic.Verified[4]

Connectivity

SpecificationValueBasis
ConnectivityHigh-Speed USB 2.0 (front port for USB drive, rear Type B for computer); Ethernet 10/100/1000BASE-TVerified[3]
Control panel10.9 cm (4.3 in) touchscreenPanel hardware — product-intrinsic; stated in the US launch announcement.Verified[5]

Electrical & environment

SpecificationValueBasis
ElectricalAC 100–240 V, 50/60 Hz, 3.4–1.6 A (EU/UK user's guide); ≈ 46 W printing / 7 W standby / 0.3 W off (GB datasheet)Verified[3]
Operating environment10–35 °C operating (15–25 °C recommended); 20–80 % RH (40–60 % recommended); ≤ 2000 m altitudeEnvironmental envelope — product-intrinsic; from the US manual.Verified[4]

Physical

SpecificationValueBasis
Dimensions (W × D × H)981 × 1448 mm footprint; height stated as 499 mm in the user's guide (with supplied platen) and 796 mm on the GB datasheet — both reproduced, likely different measurement configurationsHeight discrepancy between Epson's own documents reproduced rather than resolved.Verified[2]
Weight≈ 94.5 kg (208.3 lb), with supplied platen, excluding ink supply unitsVerified[2]

Warranty & compliance

SpecificationValueBasis
Warranty (US)US offer: 1-year limited warranty with on-site service. UK standard term is not stated on Epson UK's page or datasheet — see the UK warranty row.Verified[5]
Warranty (UK)Epson UK does not state the standard warranty term on the fetched product page or GB datasheet; paid CoverPlus extensions of 1–5 years (including on-site) are offered. Confirm the standard term with Epson UK or your dealer.Verified[1]
UK product securityGB datasheet: complies with the UK Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure (Product Security) requirements; security updates provided for 7 years from purchaseVerified[2]

Manufacturer claims

Marketing statements from the manufacturer, reproduced for context. damantra has not tested or verified them.

  • up to 20% faster when printing on dark garments — Epson's footnoted basis: versus the previous generation, 13.6 × 16.0 in dark garment, default quality setting[5]
  • Purpose-built for both direct-to-garment (DTG) and DTFilm printing[1]

Limitations

  • Epson states the printer is designed for use with Epson ink packs only, not third-party ink.
  • Absolute production-speed figures are not published by Epson in any reviewed market; any garments-per-hour number you see elsewhere is not from the official documentation cited here.
  • DTF (DTFilm) output additionally requires third-party film, powder, and a curing/finishing workflow the printer does not include.
  • The UK↔US model pairing is documented by Epson: the SC-F2200 Series User's Guide lists the SC-F2270 (US: F2270) as a series model with shared maintenance parts. Consumables remain regional — UK T54L ink series versus US T54K — so cross-territory ink interchange should not be assumed.

Sources & verification

  1. [1] SureColor SC-F2200 | Epson United KingdomEpson UK · official UK source · accessed 2026-07-17
  2. [2] SureColor SC-F2200 datasheet/brochure (GB)Epson Europe (GB datasheet) · official UK source · accessed 2026-07-17
  3. [3] SC-F2200 Series User's Guide (CMP0417, EN)Epson Europe · official European source · accessed 2026-07-17 · Linked from Epson UK's support pages
  4. [4] SureColor F2270 User's Guide (US) — Technical Specifications appendixEpson (US) · official US source · accessed 2026-07-17 · US manual for the F2270; used for fields the EU documents corroborate or that are product-intrinsic
  5. [5] Epson US launch announcement (F2270)Epson newsroom (US) · official US source · accessed 2026-07-17
Official manufacturer page

Spotted an out-of-date or incorrect specification? Tell us — corrections are reviewed against official documentation.

Run the machines; let damantra run the jobs

Quotes, orders, artwork approvals, production stages and invoicing in one calm system — built for the shops this reference is written for.